How to interpret choppy JParser Definitions (Help me read Untranslated!)

Zalor

I've recently started Tae Kim's Grammar guide, and in order to see organic examples of grammar I decided to analyze some written Japanese. I'm quite familiar with Lucky Star so I downloaded Japanese subtitles for it and decided to watch/read some of it. This is my first time using Translation Aggregator with JParser and Mecab to actually try to read Japanese. So naturally I have a few questions for experienced readers regarding how to interpret text. 

How do you deal with definitions that make little sense in context? I created a screen capture as an example of a specific case I had:

Jparserproblem.png

In response to the teacher calling on a student to answer a question on the board, the student says,

"え!? あ、さっき当たりましたよ…"

The first actual word seems to be さっき, which Jparser translates as 'some time ago'. Alright, makes sense. But then the next word "当たり" translates as multiple words. To makes things easier on my eyes I looked up the word on a separate dictionary and got this: "(1) hit. (2) success. (3) guess, prediction. (4) affability, friendliness"

The only potential definition that makes sense seems to be number 2, "success". I suppose the student is literally saying that some time ago he successfully answered a question. But what makes a lot more sense would be what the English subbed version says, "you just called on me".

I guess what I am trying to ask, is how do you put together and make sense of really choppy sentences when you only have vague definitions of words? Also, what do you do when you have a hard time determining what definition to go with when there are multiple ones?