Japan!

meru

Sooo, I live in Japan! And I thought there might be some of you who had questions about what life is like here :)

The very brief version of how I got here: I'm originally from the UK. I fell in love with anime & manga when I was about 13. When it came to make my university applications, I decided to choose to study Japanese~ I spent 5 years at university, 1 of which was spent at a university in Japan. I graduated in Summer 2012 and started looking for jobs in Japan (which btw is very difficult if you're not already living there). I finally found something and came over in October 2012. Since then I've been living and working in Tokyo. I've been at the same company the whole time, but I'm leaving next month to work as a freelance translator full time~

I know there's a few other members who live in Japan, and I'm sure many people have visited, so please feel free to share your experiences ^_^

I've been to Japan several times and made quite a few friends that I am constantly in contact with.  I've been in the Tokyo, Osaka, Okinawa and Niigata prefectures.  Beautiful country, and the people have surprisingly been very kind to foreigners visiting the country.

What other job fields would it be viable to get into Japan other than English-teaching?

I'd also like to know this.

Also when you mentioned you decided to study Japanese. Did you go to a university that had a course dedicated to Japanese itself or did you go to university and learned japanese as "a hobby" per say?

I'd very much like to learn Japanese myself and use it in some form of translation work and help the VN community as well. But there's hardly anything here dedicated to Japanese, especially not college/university wise. I'd most likely have to move out of the country just to study japanese itself. So i'd like to know from someone who has studied it.