The Witcher Series

kyrt

I find it very odd that searching through the the forums for Witcher yielded no main topic results (that or I'm really bad at searching). I aim to rectify this. 

Who here has played any of the Witcher games? Witcher 3 has been out since May and while I started playing it in July (decided to play 1 and 2 first) many people haven't even come close to finishing it yet...and that's to say nothing of the the 16 pieces of free dlc (one of which is new game+) and the two upcoming expansions; the first of which has an awesome trailer for fans who have played the game.

I spent way too long in the prologue for Witcher 3 exploring everything marked and unmarked alike. A lot of people do not realize that there are more areas than just what is seen on the map as an icon. I've found numerous extra chests and a few extra battles from wondering off the beaten path and following the map like it is an actual map. Chances are if there is something on the map even if it's just jagged rocks chances are it will lead to something. Exploring the world like it's an actual map changes the way you might play the game.

I only just finished the first Act of Witcher 3 and am over 90 hours into the game and even then I haven't explored everything. One of my favorite things to do in the game is challenge myself. I'm playing on Blood and Broken Bones difficulty and I try and kill everything I come across regardless of level. I spent nearly an hour trying to kill an earth elemental that was double my level...and I managed to win that fight. If you play the game well and take your time you can win basically any fight it might just take a very long while to chip away at an enemy.