Hello.

starfighter9

Stumbled upon these forums while browsing the internet for visual novel recommendations. I'm a relative newcomer to the world of VNs, its been only about half a year or so since i started playing.

At first, like 99.99% of the people i thought visual novels were basically just hentai games (most are labeled as eroge), and generally avoided them. But i was always partial to games with strong storylines, when i was a child i was an avid bookworm, although that later changed to video game addict i still sought rpgs with a solid plot. One day, i was directed to TLwiki looking for the fan translation of Idolm@ster SP, and that's when i started to realise VNs were more than just hentai - script counts in the tens of thousands, and a storyline that was definitely more than just sex. From there i went to vndb, and then i decided - story plus visuals, i shall definitely try this. Started on Fate/Stay Night, and after the prologue i knew i was hooked.

And that's also why i joined this forum, i like the concept of fuwanovel (also my lectures are terribly boring). Too many people have misconceptions about the world of VNs, and only a few ever move beyond thinking that VNs are just otaku fanservice, and it would be great if more people like me could realise how great VNs are. And hopefully one day there will be a large enough fanbase that publishers will see fit to localise VNs in English, although its probably just wishful thinking.

And that does it for my rambling introduction. Hope my time here will be fun.

Well said, and well met! I appreciate and agree with many of your sentiments. I'd have fallen in love with VNs long ago if I hadn't originally seen them as hentai games (I still blame the covers and advertising for many VNs for this misconception).

Fate/Stay Night was my second VN. I loved it. What have you played since?