How to start translating a game

akaritan

Hello! I haven't messaged here in a very long time, and I rarely ever made threads to begin with, so please let me know if anything about this post is inappropriate, or if it's in the wrong place, etc. I've fallen in love with Bara no Ki ni Bara no Hanasaku (https://vndb.org/v3531), and have thought about translating it myself. However, I have absolutely no experience with translating games- how would I actually go about doing this? I would probably need to recruit people to help with technical problems like making a patch, but would this be an appropriate place to do that? If not, where do I get started? I'm not ready to commit myself either (especially as a graduate student, I don't have an abundance of time), but I was reading a rather poorly translated game with a friend, and the thought of the beautiful, delicate text of Baraki someday getting the same treatment really kills me a bit, and I think it deserves to be read in English prose that can capture the charm of the Japanese.

I'm still only thinking about this, but I would really appreciate any information and advice for if I decide I want to go forward.

Hi @akaritan! I think the correct board for this post is Fan Translation Discussion, which I will (try to, I don't think I've ever used this mod tool before... oh well) move it to after finishing this reply.