Is it just me ?

Mr. Meogii

I've learned so many new words from reading translated visual novels. For someone accustomed to the English language this comes a surprise to me. Is it a question of the Japanese dialect being so broad or the work of the translators? 

Either way I still think it's amazing :3 ^.^

Maybe a few technical terms here and there in sci-fi VNs. But I was already fluent in english when I started playing.

You can pick vocabulary from anywhere though, few VNs are really well translated but that doesn't mean you won't pick up stuff from them - depends if you were already used to read books in english before I think.

Well not trying to sound arrogant, but I'm a native English speaker and no I haven't really learned any new words from anime/VNs. Of course there are words I don't know, but most of the "new words" I see in VNs/Manga are not really even words, but made up ones. Like the name of a sword, or the name of some character's attack, etc.

I could see how if you weren't native how you would be learning new words though.

One could argue that even a native English speaker would not know all the words within the English language , However this could be due to the language's evolution. I guess you are just "literature buff" :3

Well, I learned some basic words and expressions from anime and visual novels,

but I still need to take classes to learn more vocabulary.

But I have to say that a big part of my japanese skills come from anime and stuff.

Well, I learned some basic words and expressions from anime and visual novels,

but I still need to take classes to learn more vocabulary.

But I have to say that a big part of my japanese skills come from anime and stuff.

That's natural, well at least i'd like to think so. Most of the Japanese people encounter comes from anime.