Third Person Speech in VNs?

Zenophilious

I started playing Hoshizora no Memoria, and I really got confused when Chinami started referring to herself as Chinami instead of "me" or "I".  At first I thought it was an error in the translation, but since it was consistent, I decided to look her up.  Apparently this is the explanation: http://tropes.wikia.com/wiki/Third_Person_Person

About how common is this?  Just wondering, since it was a little strange to see at first.

In translation they often ignore the third person speaking and just replace it with I or Me or whatever depending on the context just to make it more coherent.

In real life this rarely happens aside from babies.

Again this is used to emphasize cuteness (related to baby speech) but for some people it doesn't work. I find it cute personally but in reality it's rather annoying if you see someone referring to themselves using third person speech.

In Japanese it's sort of a cute thing, but it doesn't quite work that well in English in my opinion. I really don't like it when translators do this, but that's just me.

I agree i'd prefer if they left the third person speech when translating because it's what the novel is saying so it should be there. Same thing when they remove honorifics (worst cases are when they address someone as senpai for example and they replace senpai with the person's name. That really gets on my nerves for some reason)

But since in english we can all agree it doesn't work as well they often just leave it out. I'm against it and i find 3rd person speech cute. But that's just me.

I agree i'd prefer if they left the third person speech when translating because it's what the novel is saying so it should be there. Same thing when they remove honorifics (worst cases are when they address someone as senpai for example and they replace senpai with the person's name. That really gets on my nerves for some reason)