As a VN maker, what kind of tools do you wish you'd have?

Sirus

Hello,

I'm a developer looking for ideas for tools I could work on that could fill a hole in the VN ecosystem.

Has there ever been any tool you'd wish you had while working on your VN, or even before starting work on it, or when it's finished?

It might be anything from a software, a script, a website (ex: a site to find other team members, a script to check grammar, a software to outline your scenario, etc.), for artists, programmers, testers, or any member of the team.

I'm interested in hearing your ideas as detailed as you can, what use case would it fill, how much time it would save you, etc.

I wish there was a place that could offer you VN specific writing prompts, and you could construct scenes using whatever art assets you already have. IE sprites and whatnot.

Sometimes, writing prompts can help get you out of a writer's block but most of the time, those prompts have little to nothing to do with writing a VN. Well, unless your VN is about a time travelling robot lizard fighting a cat demon.

I think some sort of proving ground similar to itch.io, but exclusively for visual novel alphas and betas to help smooth out the rough edges of a project (before moving your game past the point of no return by publishing it on Steam) would be amazing. The playtesting/feedback phase of VNs seems to be incredibly overlooked on the whole, but having a really brutal writer's room/environment specifically devoted to playtesting new VNs would help people prioritize it more and lead to higher quality works as a whole.

Edited by ThePenSword

3 hours ago, grimjiao said:

I wish there was a place that could offer you VN specific writing prompts, and you could construct scenes using whatever art assets you already have. IE sprites and whatnot.