Writing a website for animes, need suggestion.

zxdvas

I am not sure this is best place to ask, but this is related with anime and I think I can get some info that would not be possible elsewhere.

I am a junior frontend developer. But I am deeply unsatisfied with my current job (for ref, only 30% above minimum wage), so I am going to write a real public-facing website to get a new job. It is not going to generate any profit or has membership system. The idea is to show that I am capable of writing a website on my own.

I already have the UI drafted and tools assorted. I am going to use React, Typescript, Next.js, Tailwind CSS, HTML, GraphQL, with some CICD, web hosting, domain name stuff. I should not have too much technical difficulty, not anything I can't solve with some time. But I want to know if anyone has better tools or API to suggest.

I have done some research on the existing anime/VN websites, e.g. MyAnimeList, VNDB, AniList, visualnovelcharts, crunchyroll etc. anichart is the cloest to what I imagine, but it probably won't be as comprehensive. But I have already spotted some areas to improve in the site. e.g. You have to scroll around to use the filter and search. I suspect that is because it is intended for mobile by design.

Despite all that is said, I doubt it will have much practical usage and traffic so I might as well be bold in design and implementation. I want to know if there is any feature that you want to be included and why. Although I too would like to add fancy machine learning that analyse all past animes and predict the next big hit, that is beyond my capability now. Best list something that is so obvious and easy yet no one has done it before, e.g. allow resizing some container, because developer's computer screen is different from yours and suddenly something is off.

Oh hey, it's you! Didn't think I'd see you posting again. ^^