Reading visual novels in Japanese - Is the Ley Line series a good starting point for a beginner?

Zou

Hello! Name's Zou. I've been studying Japanese seriously for a couple of months and I really want to try the eroge learning method after my level is good enough, probably around January of 2020 if I keep going like this. That's why I've been thinking of picking a good visual novel to start with. There seems to be a dilemma among the community regarding this subject. Some say that it is better to start with something you really are anxious to play even if you won't enjoy as much as if you had a native level, while others seem to prefer starting off with a dumb slice of life moege just to get around the language and grow used to it. I prefer a middle ground, and that's why I've thought that the Ley Line series may be a good idea. I also got other games ready like Ao no Kanata, Grimoire no Sisho and Clover Days. What do you guys think.

2 hours ago, Riku said:

Ley Line is pretty easy, but it has a good plot and you wouldn't like to miss things, so just in case start with Clover Days, which is a charage, to see how you hold out, then read Ley Line.

Right, I thought about that aswell and I wouldn't like missing important key plotpoints, so I'll refrain from playing it for now.

I also saw the Clephas list and while it was very useful the moeges it offered didn't catch my attention very much, so I tought that my own selection may prove to be OK at least.

Edited by Zou

I kind of found it interesting that the choices you did make were so... eclectic.  Aokana is just an outright mediocre game, Grimoire no Shisho is a borderline nukige (really a nukige, pretty much), and Clover Days is about as vanilla as it gets for moege. 

Leyline isn't really a good choice for a first game, unless you are going to go the Spartan route by deliberately choosing medium to high reading difficulty VNs from the beginning.