Looking For Science Fiction Visual Novels

SakuyaSato

Hello~

I'm rather new to visual novels and have been seeking out visual novels that are both darker stylisicly and take place in interesting settings or with unique sets of characters. I've been interested in science fiction/cyberpunk or dystopian themed stories recently, though if you think of something outside of those genres I would enjoy regardless, I will certainly look into it!

I do not mind NSFW content, but I do not like it to be the main focus of the game. Also understand I only can read in English, I am not super expierenced in other languages.

I so far have been recommended Steins;Gate (which looks really intriguing to me) and Cartagra (feel free to list your opinions on those - I have not looked into them quite yet).

Thank you, looking forward to your recommendations~

There's a couple of TL'ed sci-fi visual novels, but most of them don't mix darker themes into the storylines. I'd agree on Demonbane, although I'd refrain from calling it sci-fi - it's more of a supernatural thriller relying on cthulhu mythos (think of Lovecraft's prose, it was based on) with some mechas and schizo-tech mixed in. The setting itself is based on early 20th century America.

I posted about Cannonball a while ago. Although the story itself remains more on the brighter side. I'd recommend giving it a try.

Space Pirate Captain Herlock: The Endless Odyssey would propably best fit the kind of stuff you'd love to see, but it's an OVA.

There's a couple of TL'ed sci-fi visual novels, but most of them don't mix darker themes into the storylines. I'd agree on Demonbane, although I'd refrain from calling it sci-fi - it's more of a supernatural thriller relying on cthulhu mythos (think of Lovecraft's prose, it was based on) with some mechas and schizo-tech mixed in. The setting itself is based on early 20th century America.