Little Busters! Review

JakeDPhil

Little Busters! Review.

Thought I should finally contribute somewhat to Fuwanovel and as such here is the review of my favourite VN, Little Busters!

Please note this is my first attempt at a game review.

It will not be perfect. Also, consider this is my personal opinion and your opinions will differ from mine.

Please feel free to post your own thoughts and opinions in the comments.

This review will contain potentially massive spoilers. Do not read if you haven't played and plan to play Little Busters!

lbvita.jpg

The first VN that I played was, like many other people, Katawa Shoujo. This game not only sparked a burning passion for VNs but also a search. A search for sadness. Let me explain.

After finishing every bad, neutral and good ending in Katawa Shoujo, I found myself looking at reviews in order to reconfirm that I hadn't missed a route besides those I had played and beaten. Looking through a fair amount of reviews as well as discussion forums, I found a common theme in all of them. Sadness. Every single topic I read on Katawa Shoujo mentioned how different parts of the game had made the author cry or feel a deep sense of sadness. I felt none of this. The main culprits for making people cry, namely Hanako's route, left me with no sadness or happiness. In fact, the only route that made me feel anything close to sadness was Rin's neutral ending, which left me only with an empty feeling in my heart. No tears.

This made me wonder whether I was indeed heartless like many people had said I was. Thus begun my task to find a visual novel that would make me cry. Onwards I went. Visual Novels passed me by yet none of them made me feel any considerable amount of sadness. The game that came closest to making me cry was Hoshimemo. The ending of Yume's route would have no doubt made me cry if only the scene had lasted longer but since it didn't means that I am writing a review for Little Busters! and not Hoshimemo.